The sharing of music via internet websites is a controversial issue nowadays. Many people believe that such an act is a crime and that offenders should severely punished. To what extent do you agree that copyright infringement of this nature should be punished?

Sharing music via internet websites is discussed to be a crime. Some people say that the procedure of doing it should be severely punished, while, in my opinion, I completely disagree with the statement. In this essay, I will describe why it should not be dramatically punished, and other methods of penalty should take place. Acute punishments for the act of sharing music are not a solution for several reasons. Because the level of how harsh the penalty should be is considered by how strong the action impact other people. This is the reason why there should be different punishments for various kinds of offences, such as fines, imprisonment, and capital punishment. Furthermore, Implementing a fine sentence is a good possible discipline for this type of commitment. Unlike serious crimes, murderers who cause the death of others, less drastic punishments should take place because of a few effects on the artists who own the music. Moreover, the act of spreading music would not be a crime if people pay for it, and the violators should be accused of a light penalty because creative musicians are not seriously affected by this action. In contrast, they can get many benefits from people spreading their music widely. For instance, Justin Bieber became popular from his audition in a contest, and people are more and more interested when he published his songs on the internet. In conclusion, sharing music on online platforms does not impact severely the victims. Therefore, I think less strongly punishments should be taken into place rather than cruel ones because they can provide more efficiency.