The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. to what extent do you agree?

Capital punishment is the top method to prevent and decrease important offences. I would argue that ı completely disagree about this issue. On the one hand, the death penalty deters criminals from contemplating a crime. İn addition, ıt sends a clear message that offence is morally wrong. Moreover, it eliminates the possibility of guilties re-offending. On the other hand, there might become more benefits to being against the death penalty. Firstly, innocent people wrongly convicted might be killed. For example, Kevin Strickland was exonerated after 43 years in one of the longest confirmed wrongful-conviction cases in U.S. history. There was one untrustworthy person as a witness. She later attempted multiple times to retract her testimony because she said she was pressured by police. He was released from prison in the end. Furthermore, If he had been sentenced to death, he could have been killed. Secondly, the death penalty does not effectively reduce the crime rate. There are many pieces of research about this issue that states that have death penalty laws do not have lower crime rates or murder rates than states without such laws. Thirdly, there is no pain-free way to kill anyone. İn conclusion, while I acknowledge that the death penalty deters criminals from contemplating a crime ı would argue that innocent people wrongly convicted might be killed, the death penalty does not effectively reduce the crime rate, there is no pain-free way to kill anyone.