Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reason for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In the animal kingdom, most of the animals flock together and live the rest of their lives in order to protect themselves from potential threats, while some may have migrated to another location for a better lifestyle. Is this true in human nature? According to a social survey, some people are willing to spend their life close to their hometown and reluctant to relocate. This essay will elaborate on the facts that have contributed to the aforementioned commitment with its merits and demerits. On the one hand, some individuals are willing to stay close to their parents to take care of them. Hence, when there is an emergency, they can respond fast. For example, a study conducted by the University of Oxford depicted that there is a strong bond between the people who settle close to their loved ones. Moreover, by living close to their birthplace, ethnic groups can protect their traditions and culture for another generation. On the other hand, they are familiar with the neighbours and the environment. It is an effortless process to adapt to the surroundings as well, as it is cheaper than moving to another place. However, families who do not want to move out of their comfort zone are losing new opportunities to grow and accept new challenges. Furthermore, they have less access to expand their social network. Moreover, these groups lack an understanding of harmonious living while respecting one another. For instance, living with strangers open up new avenues in a life that will be missed by individuals who stay close to their birthplace. To sum up, people who do not want to migrate to another place will miss their chance to widen their knowledge and experience. However, when considering the phycological perspective, it is good to live close to their loved ones rather than suffer in an isolated place with a bunch of unfamiliar groups.