Working hours are becoming longer and longer in everyday life. What are the causes and effects?

Undoubtedly, with time progressing, working hours have been becoming longer in various countries. This trend can be attributed to a myriad of causes and the related effects may be brought about as follows. An array of factors may lead to why modern workers tend to work longer than before. First, due to advanced technology, more and more competitive companies appear in the same industry, causing employers and employees to spend more time completing their work and do better than before. To put it another way, it is common that people have to work overtime to make better work to prevent other companies from surpassing themselves. Secondly, owing to globalization, many people should cooperate with their co-workers who are in other countries and other time zones; hence, they have to finish their projects on schedule by working overtime. Take me as an example. I always work overtime and have long working hours as a result of the rush to work for the sake of meeting branches' deadlines. Several effects may be generated due to longer overtime. Initially, Because of long working hours, it is hard for people to strike a balance between work and life, causing them to suffer mental and physical diseases, including depression and obesity. A study conducted by Cambridge University concluded that modern people spend more on medical fees since they do not have enough time to relieve pressure because of diving into work. Moreover, working additional hours may deteriorate the bonds between family members or friends with workers. That is, employers do not have enough free time to accompany their beloved family or maintain their relationships with their acquaintances. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, long working hours are caused by several reasons and also bring about a large number of issues.