More and more movies are being released directly onto streaming platforms, like Netflix and Disney Plus, rather than being played in cinemas. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The number of films released in cinemas is decreasing significantly, owing to the fact that they are now launched on websites and applications like Netflix and Disney Plus. Although this has numerous benefits like cost efficiency, it reduces family time and the impact of a social message being perceived by society. The main advantage of online streaming websites is that it is a cost-efficient option for both consumers and filmmakers. Audiences get a wide variety of genres and languages to choose from, by subscribing to a single service, and thus access the service at the convenience of their home. On the other end, producers generate revenue by selling their productions to companies for displaying it on the company's webpage. For instance, Netflix recently bought an Indian film, Heeramandi, to attract Indian viewers and generate traffic on their app. Furthermore, this helped the firm gain a monopoly over the regional market, retain old customers and attract new users. Nevertheless, the impact of a social message being delivered through movies is reduced considering the fact that the big screen experience is more captivating and influential for the masses. Moreover, families used to spend quality time with each other at the movies; however, nowadays they watch series alone according to their own preferences. Not only has this reduced get-togethers but it has also impacted the connectivity with friends and family. For example, approximately 74% of Americans spend about an average of 5 hours a week binge-watching whereas, this time could be spent connecting with loved ones. To conclude, undoubtedly with the introduction of software applications like Netflix and Disney Plus, people are saving money spent in a cinema hall. Besides, they are losing connection with relatives and friends.