“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that funding of several research projects on the topic of disease treatment requires a lot of money and as such a better route to meet health care objectives is to invest more money into precautionary measures. This essay completely agrees with this statment. I personally believe that the more effective methods put in place at the workplace in particular, will safeguard people’s health as well as save governmental funds as less money is spent on copious amounts of studies. When employers enforce certain rules which govern working in a safe environment, they can protect the well-being of their workers. Clearly, this action allows strict guidelines to be adopted by the workforce as well as the company in general where these can be followed by employees to prevent any unwanted outcomes regarding their welfare. For instance, occupational safety and health-related assessments are conducted in the working environment to evaluate the risk of potential hazards as a basis for the implementation of preventive schemes. Not only does it act as a major defence of the staff workers, but also permits them to have an improved life. Another major factor to consider, concerning expenditure on preventive measures against diseases, is the enormous amount of money ploughed in by the government for studies on treating diseases. A significant proportion of the national budget goes towards subsidising research while other areas of public service such as education tend to suffer. Take cancer research, for example, where a lot of work and analysis is required in order to discover groundbreaking solutions. Although this serves as a positive mission of the local government, the possibilities of finding the cure for cancer seems far-reaching. This tends to put massive strain on the national accounts. In conclusion, since sinking large sums of money into analytic studies is an extremely costly venture for an economy, the need to finance more disease-preventing procedures is what is deemed beneficial for our society today.