Some people think that people should be given the right to use fresh water as they like. Others, however, believe that governments should control the use of fresh water. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, with people’s rising awareness of environmental issues, conserving natural resources has been coming into focus. Whereas some argue that ordinary people should have complete freedom on water use, I am holding an opposite opinion and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. On the one hand, restrictions on the use of fresh water should not be imposed for several reasons. First of all, advocates assume that all citizens have the fundamental rights to consume water as it is an indispensable part of daily life. In other words, everyone ought to be available to water at any time because it is highly related to basic survival. Secondly, in modern society, pure water has somehow become a commodity; as a result, consumers are supposed to possess unlimited rights of utilizing it as they are able to afford its price. Take water corporations as an example, they are responsible for ensuring customers’ water use as they regularly pay for it. On the other hand, I suppose that the government should take relatively coercive measures to conserve water resources. It requires the authorities to partly restrict fresh water usage because it is a finite resource. To be more specific, it is necessary to set certain regulations for fresh water; otherwise, there will be increasing areas around the world suffering from severe drought and serious problems following it, such as crop failure. Additionally, with the involvement of public power, the price of water is more likely to remain stable. That is to say, the government officials are in charge of supervising the market, making sure business owners do not jack up water prices. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, it seems to me that it is beneficial for the government sectors to regulate water supply because the resource is so precious that unreasonable use should be prohibited and they can stabilize the price of water.