Some people believe that handwriting is no longer useful in the modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A sizable share of citizens consider that nowadays, the skill of handwriting is not vital and there is no necessity to learn it in schools. While I understand that there are plenty of ways to substitute this ability, I do not agree that it should be eliminated from the school curriculum. In the modern world, the use of digital devices has become commonplace, while traditional writing has received a less important role in people's daily lives.The users have an opportunity to liaise with their nearest and dearest or friends using online platforms. For example, such apps as WhatsApp or Instagram which are available on their smartphones do not require writing by hand as they can use the keyboards and send messages to each other in one click. Therefore, the need for the ability to handwrite is becoming less valuable. However, I take the view that children still should be taught how to write using a pen and paper in educational facilities as it is important for their personal progress. This is because writing, as one of the fine motor skills, is part and parcel of children's cognitive development. It makes their brain work more actively leading to the development of speaking and critical reasoning at early ages. If we neglect writing which is one of the core abilities of a human being, we will deprive children of such an important tool which plays an important role in their development. Hence, writing lessons must be included in a school programme. In conclusion, although I accept that handwriting is less beneficial in the era of technological progress, I am convinced that its presence in a school curriculum is extremely important for the student's intellectual progress