Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

These days, due to a highly competitive commercial market, people are bombarded with an array of advertisements in various types of media. Numerous adverse impacts of this trend have arisen on buyers, and governments can take steps to mitigate these problems. there are several reasons why the ubiquity of advertisements can leave several repercussions for customers. To begin with, individuals' choice of products might be manipulated if they heavily rely on commercials. Marketers tend to employ tricks and gimmicks or exaggerate the quality of their products to lure people to purchase products that they have no real need for or can be of poor quality and different from what the advertisement had shown before, leading to great dissatisfaction among buyers. Additionally, due to the high cost, advertisements increase the price of products. For example, it is costly to have a commercial broadcast on television. Therefore, consumers would have to pay more money for the same items In order to tackle these issues, a number of viable solutions could be implemented by authorities. Firstly, they should impose strict regulations on the advertising industry, like exercising censorship on all advertisements. A rigorous content check must be carried out prior to publishing a commercial to ensure the description of a product accurately reflects its actual quality. Furthermore, there should be a limit on the number of platforms on which advertisements are permitted to occur, such as billboards, posters, televisions, or social media. This would effectively safeguard consumers against information overload and help them avoid making wasteful purchases. Finally, several consumer awareness projects can be made to ensure the buyers are informed of the goods, services, and consumer rights. As a result, they can make the right choices when buying something. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly clear that citizens are easily lured into purchasing unnecessary products if they watch too many advertisements; this issue can still be addressed by appropriate measures from the administrations.