In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the Internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It has been observed that owing to advancements in technology nowadays increasing numbers of people are inclining to work from home as compared to previous years when they used to commute to the job place. This trend has both merits and demerits which I will discuss below. To begin with the advantages the foremost one is, that it saves precious time and money. It is true that people do not have to travel long distances in order to reach their workplace as they can work at their own place comfortably. They can complete tasks with less duration with the help of hi-tech equipment. Furthermore, it revolutionized working life. This means, workers can communicate via email, online network and video conferencing. It also helps to connect different workers from various nations. For example, most international conferences have been conducted on the internet platform by the authorities of countries. Additionally, it provides more flexibility and freedom as compared to traditional working patterns. This is because People can work especially in their spare time when they are at home; simultaneously they spend some extra hours with their family. On the contrary, there is one demerit which can not be overlooked. The biggest disadvantage is that it may affect the well-being of individuals. It is true that sitting prolonged period of time in front of a computer screen can cause physical disorders snd eye strain. For an instance, according to the report by the health care,department it is said that after the corona pandemic fifty per cent of people are suffering from physical disorders because of online work at their homes. In conclusion, notwithstanding there are detrimental effects on health, the pros such as it save time and funds; comfortable working patterns are logically acceptable.