In many countries, people are woking increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative effect.

In today's rapid and highly advanced society, spending the most of our time in working has become common place across the globe. I believe the reason of this trend can come down (involve) to two factors that are economic and cultural pressure. Moreover, the phenomenon working for longer hours is certainly unsustainable for both individuals and the entire society. To commence with, economic and cultural factors are the main reasons that drive people to work for more than regular hours. Firstly, as urbanization develops, youngsters are more tend to take chances in bigger cities, where the living cost can be extremely high. Therefore, in order to meet their daily wants and needs these people must work for longer duration in a day to earn more money. Secondly, in some economically thriving countries, their societies have witnessed an ongoing trend of competitive culture in the last decade. This means being busy has already became a unique lifestyle which helps people to feel more and independent. For instance, In China more and more people are inclined towards investing their time in working instead of social bonding to protect their personalities, and more importantly to become economically self-sufficient as well. However, in my opinion, the grave effects of this trend cannot be ignored because working for increasingly hours, in long run, can be terrible. For individuals, if they stay in a highly-focused or exhausting environment, high chances would be there to caught-up in serious mental illness such as insomnia,or even worse, depression. To elucidate, according to a study conducted by scholars at Peking University, there and 100 million people diagnosed with serious mental diseases, largely due to pressure from work. On the other hand, if multinationational companies, and industries keep draining their employee's energy and talents without enough vacations and welfare of employees, development cannot be sustained in the long-run. In conclusion, working for longer duration underlying in the people's belief that working harder can be a way to earn better luxurios life, but we must understand that this is not beneficial for our mental health.