Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary times, prison is a place not only for punishment, but also for rehabilitation. In numerous circumstances, criminals can turn over a new leaf after imprisonment and become model citizens or impressive counsellors. From the following illustrations, I agree that they make good examples and are good persuaders for teenagers who are about to fall into the traps of crime offenders. To commence with, a previous law-breaking criminal who understood his mistake and became a law-abiding citizen is a living role model. This is because he has been in the wrong, understood his mistake, received punishment, and made amendments. My colleague at the youth centre is a striking example. He was a juvenile delinquent who committed burglary, and after rehabilitation, understood the adverse consequences of his action and become a good counsellor for teenagers. He can draw examples from this own experience when talking about crime and its possible threat. It is clear to see that his own experience is the strongest evidence for teens to stay away from crime. Furthermore, youngsters are often rebellious, which can be attributed to hormonal or social factors. Unwilling to follow the words of authoritative figures like teachers and parents, they are prone to temptations of criminal offenders. However, it is more likely they find resemblance in previous lawbreakers, whom they can confide in and obtain relevant advice. Hence, talks given by rehabilitators on dangers of crime can bring back adolescents who are on the verge of committing unlawful acts. To conclude, previous criminal offenders who have rehabilitated and became law-abiding citizens are strong persuaders to young adults and are the prime candidates for talks on the perils of crimes, as evidenced by their own experience and also the rebellious nature of teenagers.