In order to solve traffic problems, the government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Recently, with the urgency of fostering public transport to address traffic issues, several argue that it should be done by utilizing funds from additional taxes for private automobile owners. This strategy can bring this amenity to every resident; on the contrary, it may also enhance the automobile's price. One potentially beneficial outcome of the policy is that it can make urban transport more accessible. In other words, the government's higher income means more money to build and provide incentives for infrastructure development. For instance, in Jakarta, the authority makes the Jaklingo, which is a minibus-based transit system, affordable for citizens, especially the impoverished ones. They subsidized its expenditures, and this approach enables those with a minimum wage to consume it daily and save their salary for alternative essential things. On the other hand, one disadvantage of the solution will be increasing the cost of vehicles until they are unreachable by several. This is due to the fact that this growth sometimes does not correlate positively with increased earnings. Take, for example, that the average additional tax on car prices varies between 20% and 100% in Indonesia, which is relatively high for developing countries. If this figure were boosted, then individuals with low-paying jobs would likely not be able to afford it and would have no further option except to use public transportation. However, if this facility is not developed around their workplace, they may struggle to commute to work. In conclusion, if the legislature raises the tax on private automobile owners and uses this capital to improve general transport, it may tackle traffic light issues. One advantage of this strategy is that it can make any person able to use that kind of transportation, whereas the downside of it may raise the car's price.