Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, some argue that countries should be independent in food production for all residents and not spend money on importing. It is an inevitable fact that this idea can lead to more poverty in some nations and a Lack of budget. I strongly disagree that governments just focus on producing food for their societies. To begin with, export and import play influential roles in all countries ' economic conditions. As a result, poor or war-torn countries especially the ones which face lacks of agricultural facilities such as poor soil, insufficient water and dry weather cannot produce high-quality crops and food. So, all developed communities have to export a variety of cuisine to these kinds of countries and help them to combat poverty. For example, in my country as a developing country, the government some years ago decided to import flour for backing more bread because the rate of rain has been decreasing since 15 years ago and our farmers struggle with this problem. Hence, the majority of countries do not have all suitable situations for making all kinds of foodstuff. Moreover, paying attention to money is vital and affects financial decisions. Authorities always have to assign the budget to significant needs. Making some productions can result in paying a huge amount of money while accessing them via import will be logical. For instance, in Malaysia after 10 years when the government faced an insufficient budget decided to import some crops like wheat and barley instead of planting them. Therefore, officials’ financial decisions can impact the quality of people’s lifestyles. To sum up, it is argued by most people believe that a country must produce its own food for the entire nation. However, in my opinion, if governments try to find better ways for responding to people’s nutrition needs such as importing, they will manage their economic difficulties easily.