Many manufactured food and drink product contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary product should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A large number of factory-made goods are high in sugar, which contributes to plenty of health issues. One way to deal with such a problem is to increase the price of these products for customers to discourage them from using them. I personally presume that raising the cost of sugar-based commodities can be encouraging people to use them less as well as motivate them to have more healthy habits. This essay will discuss the reasons for that. With the increasing commercial industry, many manufacturers advertise their products in enticing ways to raise the level of their business without caring about people ’s health. Therefore, it is the authorities’ responsibility to tackle this problem and one way to do so is to levelling up the cost of sugary goods especially drinks in order to stop society from having them. This will be practical, since people have to spend a high amount of money and at least the mass who can not afford it, stop taking a lot of these products and as a result, there is a better health status for the community. For instance, coke and soda contain a lot of sugar which is really unhealthy to take daily and they are bought by a large group of people especially youngsters every day causing a lot of health -related issues. Moreover, when children are deprived of having these products at school due to expenses which they have to pay, it leads to a more healthy generation in the future. To achieve this, the principles of schools can eliminate commodities from pupils’ diets and replace them with more nutritious food like natural juice and milk which are really helpful for their bodies, so that they will decrease the number of obese people in the future generation. In particular, this is the case for many schools around the UK these days to have more healthy eating and drinking habits amongst their students. On the other hand, there are opponents to this idea who argue that people should have their own right to choose what they want to consume or have. They believe that society should feel free to get what they want regardless of the consequences. They also add when this choice is taken from people they feel restricted and they may even act the opposite and take more of that. Hence, they must be left to freely opt for what they desire. This will result in a more mentally cheerful community, which is more beneficial for the whole society as they assume. To conclude, it seems to me that overpriced unhealthy food and drink can be deterrent to people who consume them daily, so that it conduces to better health for the whole population of a country although many contend that it is human rights violations.