Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

These days, for households that are still economically unstable, and especially after the severe effects of THE pandemic that can make both parents have to become the breadwinner in the family, leaving their offspring for grandparents to take care of is a great choice for many. This can bring a lot of positives but also have a few drawbacks that affect the whole family. First, having grandparents around for the upbringing of young children can make the relationship between them stronger. Usually, grandchildren can only visit their seniors on a monthly basis or even less. Therefore, getting to spend quality time together will be a great opportunity to foster a strong bond and affection,especially for those who come from different generations. Second, child-minding can keep the older members of a family energetic and vibrant. In fact, being around grandchildren is scientifically proven that helps them battle loneliness, and depression and even increase their lifespan. Furthermore, children under the nurture of grandparents will be more knowledgeable about the history and have a deep sense of patriotism through our ancestor's historical lessons, which helps build moral values from an early age and keeps them entertained without the use of television and video games. However, the drawbacks should not be overlooked. Grandparents who are the people of the previous generation may have slightly outdated views and ideas compared to the current generations. This may be fairly detrimental for raising grandchildren. For example, for some elderly in Vietnam, females should only spend their time learning cooking and sewing, while boys/males should learn how to be the sole provider for the family in the future. Moreover, there are also a lot of grandparents who pamper their grandchildren immensely, which might mislead them into thinking that violation of ground rules is acceptable. And that is when the relationships between grandparents and birth parents in child-rearing methods become more stressful and challenging. In conclusion, although there are many positives positive in leaving children to grandparents to nurture, it still has some drawbacks that parents should consider carefully.