Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our modern day and age, people use mobile phIn our modern day and age, people use mobile phones for daily activities starting from communicating with others to carrying out work meetings and online banking. It is argued by some that for safety reasons governments should monitor their citizen's phones, while others believe this is a violation of privacy. In this essay, I will discuss these two perspectives and give my opinion. Undoubtedly governments should not hold back on any measure to ensure their national security. However, direct monitoring and censorship is a violation of their citizens ' freedom which leads to subsequent loss of trust and division. For example, the Chinese government has direct observership on its citizens ' online and cell phone activities. As a result, most people tend to use VPNs and third-party websites to protect their personal online interactions. For these reasons, the government should seek other measures such as user authentication or biometric registrations to strengthen their cyber security rather than direct censorship. Most of the exchanges on mobile phones are personal, intimate interactions which people do not need to justify or explain. However, authorities are able to request access to confidential, personal information in certain circumstances such as terrorist attacks or to inquire about evidence in legal trials. This access should be only granted after issuing a warrant from a courthouse and informing the person involved. Implementing this practice prevents will misuse of sensitive data by authority figures and investigators. In Conclusion, phone calls and messages are intimate exchanges. Governments should not open access to such data. They should focus on other tools to improve their safety measures.ones for daily activities starting from communicating with others to carrying out work meetings and online banking. It is argued by some that for safety reasons governments should monitor their citizen's phones, while others believe this is a violation of privacy. In this essay, I will discuss these two perspectives and give my opinion. Undoubtedly governments should not hold back on any measure to ensure their national security. However, direct monitoring and censorship is a violation of their citizens ' freedom which leads to subsequent loss of trust and division. For example, the Chinese government has direct observership on its citizens ' online and cell phone activities. As a result, most people tend to use VPNs and third-party websites to protect their personal online interactions. For these reasons, the government should seek other measures such as user authentication or biometric registrations to strengthen their cyber security rather than direct censorship. Most of the exchanges on mobile phones are personal, intimate interactions which people do not need to justify or explain. However, authorities are able to request access to confidential, personal information in certain circumstances such as terrorist attacks or to inquire about evidence in legal trials. This access should be only granted after issuing a warrant from a courthouse and informing the person involved. Implementing this practice prevents will misuse of sensitive data by authority figures and investigators. In Conclusion, phone calls and messages are intimate exchanges. Governments should not open access to such data. They should focus on other tools to improve their safety measures.