In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, there is a statement which predicts people's intention in reading. A certain segment of society assumes everybody will prefer to read books or newspapers digitally while the others think in a different way. Regarding this matter, I strongly agree with the prediction saying the online reading will dominate the offline for some reasons. This essay will provide further details to substantiate my argument. To commence with, digital readings have a big advantage in terms of the economical aspect. As we have known, the reduced cost by not printing it will give a cheaper price than the printed one. For example, we should pay Rp 5000,00 to read the information in a Kompas newspaper while we can get the same news for free by accessing Kompas.com even though we have to see some advertisements. The situation will give a mutual benefit for all stakeholders since customers do not need to pay anything and the advertisers may get high traction due to the mass of visitors. Overall, the usage of online media will be financially profitable compared to the paper-based readings. In the addition to the previous statement, accessibility is the other advantage of using online media. For instance, we just have to open our smartphone to start reading a book or newspaper while previously we need to spare our particular leisure time to read the printed version of it. The low time needed in accessing that information would psychologically bring readers to go back to visit the website without any hesitations. This is the key start to create an addiction for consumers. In summary, the digitalisation of media publications will be the choice of consumers rather than the printed version of it. In terms of business, it will create a mutual advantage among the customers, media companies, and advertisers while it also can create addiction due to the easy access feature. Therefore I believe the existence of hard newspapers and books will be obsoleted and replaced by online journalistic products. Since some media companies are not financially enough to do the transition, governments should help by producing policies to ease the digitalisation.