Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Music is a part of every society in the world. Its profound and diverse influence sparks opinions on how it influences individuals and societies. Although many have shown that music improves results, some disagree, saying it could also have adverse effects. Music supporters, on the one hand, exclaim the benefits it brings to individuals and society at large. For individuals, listening to or playing music can help to take the edge off stress, provide relaxation, and put someone in an upbeat mood. For instance, music therapy is said to help with mental health treatments such as stress and depression (Read more here). Music also supports the culture on a societal level, creating community. However, cultural festivals, music events (concerts), and communal music -making are inherently social events that encourage social cohesion and promote cultural identity. In addition, music can create social change by educating and spreading the word on various subjects and galvanizing a community behind a single cause. On the flip side, there is an argument against encouraging too much music. Some of these styles glorify violence, substance abuse, and materialism. Many people believe, for example, that violent or sexually explicit lyrics in some forms of rock and rap music do help to desensitize listeners to violence or are themselves symptoms of more widespread social problems. Some research has signified that the type of music being listened to may change mood and behavior, which may drive aggression or anti-social tendencies. Furthermore, the widespread music in media and culture may commercialize artists and messages, often nullifying higher values. But despite its potentially harmful effects on some issues, music does more good than harm. The secret is raising music awareness, advocating for critical listening, and integrating musical education into our society. Building a culture that supports authentic, healthy musical expression can strengthen the health of individuals and communities alike. In conclusion, while music does present both positive and negative implications, its capacity to connect people, enrich lives, and provide emotional solace suggests it should be celebrated and embraced as a fundamental aspect of human experience.