Plastic bags, plastic bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic waste is increasing at an alarming level not only in the locality but also internationally. This definitely poses a threat to our environment as many aquatic creatures feed on it. In order to solve this difficulty authorities around the globe have to collaborate and impose more taxes on plastic products. Plastic products like bags, knives and others end up in our rivers, seas, and oceans if they did not dispose of correctly. Because aquatic life is very sensitive, many whales are caught dead as a result of eating plastic -related products. For instance, a popular channel called National Geographic, reported that 120 whales had died in the last four years around the globe because they ate plastic objects that are floating on the surface of the water. Therefore, this can disrupt the food chain that has been in existence for thousands of years. For this reason, I believe that plastic waste is disastrous to our planet. In order to fix this difficulty, authorities have to increase taxes on the products which are made out of plastic. Although this action could be difficult to apply everywhere in the world, if applied properly, many companies would try to find other viable alternatives for their plastic products. For example, they can replace their plastic items with paper items, which are more environmentally friendly as they are biodegradable. Consequently, the paper-based industry would replace the plastic industry as time goes by. As a result, a less environmental impact would be expected. To conclude, plastic cutlery harm our environment as it causes many aquatic animals to die. In order to solve this issue, governments should impose more taxes on products like bottles, bags and others that are made out of plastic.