A PERSON'S WORTH NOWADAYS SEEMS TO BE JUDGED ACCORDING TO SOCIAL STATUS AND MATERIAL POSSESSIONS. OLD-FASHIONED VALUES, SUCH AS HONOUR, KINDNESS AND TRUST, NO LONGER SEEM IMPORTANT. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THIS OPINION?

In the contemporary era where people have become extremely materialistic- which is a superior criterion to measure the worth of a person- there is no sign of moral values. I do not agree with this idea as despite the majority considering wealth and social status crucial, there are still humble people in society who give importance to values. In my opinion, later is imperative rather than the former concept. To begin with, undoubtedly, most people in modern society believe that socially recognized and wealthy individuals are worthy. For example, it is evident from the real-world status these days that people respect rich and socially powerful members of the community. Based on the judgement standards of the modern world, many people have left values far behind. They are struggling to enhance their income and raise their standards socially. This new trend has gained popularity and people prefer to follow it. On the other hand, although there is a scarcity of morally and ethically strong people, the world has not lost them completely. They are considered old fashioned and conservative citizens but they are a great source of saving forgotten values. For instance, the elderly believe in kindness, honour and trust. These values are inevitably valuable as they are the core of humanity and distinguish human beings from other creatures. Therefore, these should be considered as an actual criterion to judge people because they ensure real success in life. In conclusion, even though a large proportion of the population globally is materialistic nowadays, some people are exceptionally down to the earth. They, therefore, highly appreciate values of others instead of their material possessions and communal status. Hence, I believe that moral values are indispensable for a society to flourish.