Some people believe famous people's support towards international aid organizations draws the attention to problems, while others think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people have contention over whether celebrities ' support towards international aid organizations raises public awareness of the problems. In my point of view, celebrities make the problem less important as they tend to distract people from real social issues. Some people argue that people who hold high social status and who receive public recognition are more powerful in drawing public attention. If they support international aid organisations through fundraising or celebrity endorsement, a profound impact will be exerted over the general public. For example, fans and followers will start imitating their act by initiating donating or volunteering events for the organisation. Such acts will help the international aid organisations source personnel and capital from different parts of the world, which leads to the social problems being addressed in an efficient way. On the other hand, some people believe that celebrities ' support will distract people's attention from the real issue, and I agree with this idea. This is because most celebrities act out their role as social benefactors. They see speaking for international aid organisations as a chance for self-branding. They do this without giving serious consideration to how the problems could be better solved through their own power and status. In this case, they tend to put emphasis on branding themselves. They could also misrepresent the truth or provide band- aid solutions to complex problems. For example, the public statement against racism does not provide practical solutions in real life. As a consequence, attention is drawn by celebrities and their views, while few people care about the real problems behind. In conclusion, I hold the idea that celebrities make the problems less important. Although they are powerful in getting public attention in a short period of time, people are likely to be misguided by their views instead of the fact, leading to the consequence that little attention is given to the real social problems.