Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

While some museums charge an entrance fee, others are free of charge. Although charging an admission fee might dissuade some potential visitors from visiting, it allows museums to have more funds available for maintenance and preservation, and it also makes visitors more careful while visiting museum. In my opinion, the benefits surpasses the drawbacks by a big margin. Charging an access fee might discourage some people from visiting museums. People are generally attracted to free museums compared to the paid ones. In addition, admission fee might make museums seem like it is not accessible to everyone. Furthermore, it could deter people of low income from visiting museums. Free to visit museums are more popular, and more people tend to visit them. It can be exemplified the museum of London which is widely known and gets visited by a large number of people every day. In spite of the setbacks, charging an access fee allows museum authority to earn enough revenue to take better care of the invaluable items and preserve them. Often museums are severely underfunded; therefore, a earning source enables authority to properly preserve the precious historical reminisces. Moreover, it allows museums authority to hire more staff for maintenance and historians for researching items so that they can find out more about them. For instance, Louvre museum is extremely prestigious for their well preserved historical objects and the security they provide, and it is all possible because they charge a small admission fee. [20:45] When visitors pays to visit a museum, they are usually more cautious about not damaging or ruining any historical objects. Generally, people are pretty careless when visiting a free museum; whereas, when there is an access fee they are more vigilant about the items. As a result, people can take a closer look at items presented in a paid museum compared to the fee for all museums. Moreover, managing security in a paid museums is much easier than free museums since people are attentive and watchful while visiting them. In conclusion, I believe the merits of charging an entrance fee for visiting museums significantly outweigh the shortcomings since it provides more security, better preservation of historical items, better researching capabilities and so on and so forth. Personally, I think there should an entrance fee for every museums except a few ones.