Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that people are dependent on social networking sites in various aspects of their lives. However, what remains unclear is whether these sites have affected people's lives in a negative way. In my perspective, I agree with the fact that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. On one hand, social networking sites adversely affect individuals' mental and physical well-being. It is reported that people feel lonelier and more isolated if they solely rely on social media to connect to friends and relatives. The fear of missing out on a positive experience that someone else is having is enhanced. For example, disappointment will increase if someone finds out from social networking websites that his friends had a party without him. Similarly, addiction to social networking sites leads to physical health concerns. Symptoms such as chronic sleep deprivation, fatigue, sore eyes and neckache attribute to the excessive usage of social networking sites. The more dependence that people develop on the networking sites, the more physical and mental issues they are likely to have. On the other hand, social networking sites generate risks to society. This is because of the prevalence of cyberattacks such as hacking and identity theft that cause the leaking of sensitive information. Also, networking sites harm people's productivity. People are frequently distracted by notifications from Facebook and Twitter from work or studies that usually require a long attention span. In this case, the adverse effect of social networking sites on society is manifested. In summary, I would argue that social networking sites have a negative impact on both individual and society levels because they harm people's mental and physical health, pose risk to cyber security, and reduce people's productivity.