People are wearing western-style clothes rather than more traditional clothes. Why is this? Is it a negative or positive development?

It is increasingly common nowadays for young people in China to wear Jeans and Sneakers instead of traditional Chinese clothes such as Qipao and cloth shoes. In this essay, I will discuss how this western dressing style becomes mainstream in many nations and why this is a worrying trend. One of the main causes of traditional clothes being replaced by western ones is the widespread of western cultures across the globe. In today’s globalized world, consumers nowadays have increased access to products from other parts of the world. By exporting consumer goods, western countries disseminate their cultures to developing nations. This trend has accelerated over the last few decades when western cultural products emerged in these nations, particularly in many Asian countries. Good examples include Hollywood films, the NBA and French fashion magazines. These inevitably appeal a great many young people in modern cities who embrace novelty. As a result, they opt to follow western trends of dressing, thereby gradually reshaping the dressing style in the nationwide. Although western clothes suit modern lifestyles more than traditional ones, this trend poses a threat to traditional cultures of host countries. As an indispensable element of traditional culture, clothes play a vital role in cultural identity. Without this way of exposure to their ancestral culture on a daily basis, children will lose a valuable chance to interact with traditions, religions and national identity of their nations. It is highly likely that they will not consider national cultures important to their self-identity and keep this notion when they grow into adulthood. Therefore, if traditional dressing styles fade in a society, the primacy of traditional culture will inevitably be overlooked. In conclusion, as western cultures have been popularized worldwide, people are heavily influenced and ignore their national clothes. This trend undermines the preservation of traditional cultures in many nations and should be reversed with measures taken by governments.