In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some parts of the world, children are assured anything is possible if they set their minds to it. This message can be advantageous as it motivates them and builds up their self-esteem. Nevertheless, it can lead to some negative consequences. To begin with, nowadays the young generation keeps getting the concept of being able to achieve everything. An upside here is when adults encourage them to pursue their passions and to believe in themselves, this pushes them to become the best version of themselves as well as gives them the drive to work hard and stay positive. Another merit point here is that it keeps them encouraged throughout failure time. In other words, if they have been taught that persistence and hard work will get them through, they will stay motivated and never give up. On the other hand, a major disadvantage is that children often get this idea that they can achieve whatever they want or they are special as soon as they get into the real world, in an instant, they find out they are not special and therefore the self-images shuttered. Another possible issue is that they may set up unrealistic goals that will effect backward. Consequently, this can be exemplified by students who stay up all night because they want to be the top student and they suffer from mental health issues such as depression, anxiety, and isolation. In conclusion, although it is beneficial to tell children that working hard towards a goal leads to positive results, it can cause them issues such as frustration.