Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing. in many cases, the people being monitores are unaware that it is happening. do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

During the past few years, a witnessed shift towards digitalizing most data-related tasks and live collection of information, whether available online and or through cameras installed in public and private spaces. Those advances have some great benefits and concerning drawbacks, but do the benefits of continued monitoring outweigh its negative consequences? The collection and storage of data online has many advantages. To begin with, it can prevent cybercrimes. Without the ability to record calls and retrieve online conversations, authorities will not be able to convict anyone guilty of committing crimes online like blackmail. In addition, using security cameras can be quite useful for business owners. For example, in cases of burglary, footage from visual recordings would be used to identify the individuals involved. On the other hand, live tracking has plenty of disadvantages. Firstly, and most importantly, this technology leads to lack of privacy. Every person has the right to privacy and video or audio recordings violate that right. Secondly, such measures can affect the freedom of speech and movement. Some governments around the world use information collected online and face-recognition features to control individuals and prevent then from taking actions against their policies, which breaches freedom of expression. Last but not least, the availability of private data online is dangerous especially in the case of data leaks. A simple system failure would put millions of people at risk and compromise their safety. In conclusion, advances in tracking technology have pros and cons. It helps combat cybercrimes but it could affect the right to free speech and expression. In my opinion, this technology should be used by authorities carefully under strict restrictions to prevents its drawbacks because it has serious consequences.