The cultures of many countries around the world become more similar than they used to be. What are the reasons for this trend? Is it positive or negative?

It is true that many aspects of cultures have become increasingly similar throughout the world, which can be explained by the influence of western societies. This essay will elaborate on this phenomenon and explain why we should be cautious about it. Undeniably, all cultures have been increasingly influenced by western values. Firstly, important platforms that facilitate the spread of information are ubiquitously developed by western countries, which will largely benefit the popularity of western cultures worldwide. For example, the video website Youtube claims that they are an open platform. However, the fact is that there’s significantly more English content produced by Americans and Europeans than that made by creaters creatures from other nations and regions. As people from all over the world consume these similar types of content, the culture they represent will be more mainstreamed. Secondly, multinational companies of western origins also contribute to cultural assimilation as their products are made available across the globe. The best example is the fast-food chain McDonald which has become part of the childhood memories of kids all over the world. I believe that similarity in culture can be detrimental in several ways. First of all, many nations are risking losing their traditional cultures. As more people pursue a western way of living, traditional customs will receive less attention generation by generation. Today in China, more young people like drinking coffee than tea, which is a huge loss as China boasts of a rich tea-drinking heritage. In addition, the world would be a boring place without cultural diversity. People won’t be too excited about travelling anymore because what they’ll see and experience won’t be much different. In summary, I find cultures of many nations have become increasingly westernized mainly due to the influence of western media and conglomerates, which can be detrimental to cultural diversity and the survival of traditional cultures.