Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years the topic of allocating money for the construction of railways and roads has become significant. Governments prefer to spend this budget on roadways, while many people believe that a wiser decision is investing in railways. I totally disagree with allocating all the wealth to roadways, a d in the following paragraphs I will clarify my opinion. To begin with, the construction of roads leads to using more cars and therefore producing more carbon dioxide, which produces global warming and also air pollution. By building roadways we can reduce the footprint of carbon dioxide and help the environment by preventing damages which could be made by car consumption. Secondly, providing railways that improve public transportation can reduce traffic congestion and also helps people to use their time more efficiently. For instance, they can read books, listen to podcasts, type an e-mail, etc.These works cannot be done when they are driving. Investing in railways has its own drawbacks, however. It is not constructible in areas with hills or mountains, but in contrast, roads can be built almost everywhere. Another disadvantage of railways is that they cannot be used for various types of vehicles like buses,cars, etc, but roadways have this particular benefit in comparison with railways. To summarize, both plans have their own costs and benefits and they may differ in specific areas. Authorities ought to measure these criteria and decide which way of allocating money is best for the public. I think for most parts of the world investing in railways is a better choice rather than spending wealth on roads.