People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

It is true that these days people do not have a feeling of safety whether they are in their own house or when they are in public places or in the street. While the causes of this problem can be identified, I believe that some solutions could help to lessen such fear. The perception that society is unsafe and people are at risk even at home stems from at least two reasons. One of the major causes is probably the huge gap between the rich and the poor in a community which leads to the rising crime rate. For instance, burglary and robbery have become increasingly common in Vietnam or even offenders steal and rob properties from others as their “job” or livelihood. Another reason might be the dangerous situations people encounter on the street from careless drivers or traffic jams. Unfortunately, severe accidents could happen with people who obey traffic rules well. In many recent news reports, hundreds of car incidents were caused by those who totally get drunk or at high speed, and sadly the victims are innocent good citizens. Some simple measures should be implemented to deal with these root causes of insecurity. Firstly, authorities not only take responsibility for educating and improving residents’ awareness of crimes but also invest in providing people with job training courses. As a result, people could have a chance to be well-educated and escape from poverty. Finally, they have no reason to take things from others to make a living. Furthermore, CCTV should be fully equipped in every corner of big cities and towns in order to track bad-behaved and illegal users on the roads. As a consequence, many city dwellers might feel safer when they are out in public areas with security video cameras surroundings to make sure all happenings are records time to time. In conclusion, the problem of poverty as a cause of crimes and the problem of road safety can be tackled by effective solutions, giving people a greater sense of security.