People today sleep less and less. What are causes of this? Do you think this is a positive development?

There have been ongoing debates regarding whether or not many people nowadays are experiencing a consistent lack of sleep. This essay will elaborate on the causes of this sleep behaviour and the reason why I disagree that it has a positive impact on human health. To begin with, there are various factors that contribute to an inadequate amount of rest. Firstly, overworking is responsible for stress, which has allowed individuals to be at risk of having severe sleep problems including less quality of sleep. Take Elon Musk for instance; he spends an average 4 -5 hours of sleep due to working long hours. Secondly, another reason is that the lifestyle of person has changed, and need to use electric devices. As a result, the brain is disturbed before sleeping time, which leads to problems with falling asleep. With regard to my point of view, I personally believe that people who sleep less than regular sleep would have detrimental effects on their health problems. To explain simply, this is because many who don’t get enough sleep increase their risk of cancers, obesity and even car accidents. Studies carried out by Oxford University, for example, revealed that 80% of those who have adequate sleep are able to live long lives. From this perspective, it is evident that if they continued these negative actions, they might face serious well-being issues that increased the level of uncertainty in their life expectancy. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that people have shortened sleep as a result of overwork and lifestyle, I am of the opinion that people should exert control over their bedtime as much as they can in order to health and longevity.