Some people believe that if the police force carries guns, it would encourage a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the role of the police force has become more crucial than before as there are higher criminal levels. However, I strongly disagree with those who think that guns carried by the police force will encourage a higher level of violence in society for two main reasons. First and foremost, I can not find any correlation between a police gun and a criminal case that possibly happened. The guns ' function is to protect the police themselves as well as the society around them, so they will use their guns if they feel or see people in danger. For instance, a criminal who stole money from a store ran away, thus the police can use their guns to stop them. Furthermore, guns can also function to prevent violence. To illustrate this, let's say there is someone who wants to steal money from a random person in the street, but suddenly he sees the police with guns around there, so he decides to step back. Secondly, I think there are more crucial factors that encourage someone to do something violent. Maybe economic factors have become the main reason why people choose to be criminals. They have to fulfil their needs to live but do not have money to buy things. We often hear many cases like that, for example, there is someone who steals a phone so that he can sell it and get money from it. In conclusion, I can not stand with those who believe the guns of the police force will drive a higher level of violence. I think there is no correlation between those two things. Moreover, I believe that violence happens because of fundamental reasons like economic factors. Therefore, rather than argue about the police guns ' function, we can discuss more about how to prevent criminals by raising society's welfare.