People today sleep less and less. What are causes of this? Do you think this is a positive development?

In the recent era, Drastic change has been seen in the sleeping patterns of humans. High work pressure in jobs and late-night activities are a few causes of such change. This is definitely a negative trend and this essay will elaborate on the causes which have led to increasing of this tendency among individuals The foremost reason for less sleep is high work pressure in jobs, stress of completing the task or project on time involves an employee working overtime so as to meet the deadline which ultimately leads to a decrease in sleep time. For instance, in the private sector, organizations take aggressive targets to earn maximum revenues, due to which each employee is needed to work for longer hours in the office. Hence, such pressure and longer durations of work have affected sleeping patterns. In addition to this, performance pressure is also another cause of less sleep. Competition among peers and colleagues forces an individual to put extra effort and time into the work. That extra hours are being managed from the sleeping hours only. This trend is harming one's health as proper sleep is important for good health. Another reason is an increase in late-night activities such as binge-watching, gaming jams and late-night partying in clubs. Such activities have become a social part of humans' lifestyle and this will hamper sleeping timings which will lead to depletion in health and cause various health-related problems. For example - When a person binge-watch a web series or plays a game the entire night instead of giving good sleep to the body. The next morning they must feel lethargic or had a headache and even such regular activities lead to lower one's eyesight. To conclude, people have started decreasing sleeping time so as to meet deadlines in the office or to have fun and entertainment. But such a trend will be going to lower an individual's efficiency in the long run as proper sleep is much required to rejuvenate the body. So good sleep is a must for a healthy life.