Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The development of transportation modes plays a key role in the economy and environment. Trains and cars are the two main means of transportation that have been developing since the invention of steam engines. While there might be a widespread belief about trains and railways are the relics of the past, the ever-increasing role of science in practice has cast light on the importance of railroads. On the other hand, although roads are one of the indispensable parts of a country, they have some issues in transporting cargo. Roads are costly to be constructed and maintained. A host of examples such as the risk of accident, the amount of pollution, and traffic jams imply that this mode cannot be useful for industrial purposes. Today, advanced electric cars and electromagnetic trains have been becoming more dominant than before. According to the economics field, having a significant length of railroads would foster economic growth. In addition, the engines of trains are much more environmental-friendly. Hence, I agree with the investment in railroads because of these two reasons. In economics science, there is a wide range of studies that demonstrated the role of transportation in economic circulation. Railroads are the epicentre of countries’ infrastructure because of, first, the inherent convenience of conveying huge amounts of cargo compared to trucks running on the roads. Second, the well-developed infrastructure of the railroads enables firms and manufacturers to receive or send their input or output materials due to the fewer traffic jam on railways. Third, a consistent network of railroads connects economic zones to create value-added reducing the marginal cost. Thus, investment in railroads would accelerate the circulation of the economy. The growing role of science in developing various sources of energy is irrefutable. Nowadays, the invention of nuclear energy, electromagnetic energy, and compost energy has ameliorated the efficiency index of machines. For example, electromagnetic engines use electricity to produce a magnetic field to accelerate the train; thus, they would have two significant advantages over conventional engines in terms of efficiency and speed. Consequently, the result of installing these engines would satisfy environmental protection criteria. In conclusion, I believe that spending money on railroads would be much more beneficial to the economy and environment based on speed, volume, and efficiency. The investment would create a brilliant opportunity to hinder the over-use of fossil fuel and would reduce the risk of accidents by declining the number of cars on roads.