Some people argue that the fittest, strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports.but other people think that success is much related to the mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether physical fitness or the mental attitude is significant in sports. In my opinion, both mental and physical health are equally important for success in sports. I will discuss and analyse both of these points of view in detail in this essay. On the one hand, sportsmen should be strong and fit to perform better in games. For instance, many studies have proven that muscular strength and physical tolerance are vital to winning in sports. Undoubtedly, lean and weak individuals cannot play well to defeat their opponents in the playgrounds. Therefore, the higher the physical stamina and ability to cope with tiredness, the greater the chances of winning for a team. Hence, the physical ability to perform outstandingly in sports is imperative for achieving brilliant results. On the other hand, the significance of the mental ability to deal with the different circumstances and situations in sports is equally indispensable. Players with a positive attitude have more chances of success compared to their negative minded counterparts. For example, an optimistic sportsman takes failures positively and learns lessons from them which assist him to gain success and achievements in the future. Thus, without a positive mind, players cannot make their way through sports towards an exceptional and extraordinary success in their sporting careers. In conclusion, definitely, physical stamina ensures triumph in games but no one can deny the importance of mental aptitude for victory in sports. I, therefore, believe that success in sports requires athletes to be strong both physically as well as mentally.