A number of people are moving from rural areas to cities. Is it a positive or a negative development?

Migration of many individuals from villages to cities can be seen in today’s world. This trend will have adverse effects in future because of increase in crowdedness in cities, lack of development of rural areas along with increase in pollution. The above development will lead to higher population density in cities. This is because in the same area of cities where fewer people were living before, now more people coming from villages will try to reside. For example, when Delhi opened its gates to laborers from nearby villages, the people living in every one kilometer area got doubled. As a result of shortage of resources caused due to this action, there will be inflation in prices of property and food items, which will make the lives of people living in cities difficult. Besides the negative effect on city people ’s lives, it will leave the rural areas undeveloped. The reason behind the same is that when these areas ' talented people having more education or skills will shift to cities, there will be no one left to uplift the villages. As the resources, such as land, of villages will not come to any use, the country’s economy will be affected. Moreover, the environment gets polluted. As more people will start generating more waste, improper dumping of litter may deteriorate the quality of soil. Further, the increased use of vehicles will produce more harmful emissions, decreasing the air quality. Therefore, the residents of these places may have to suffer from various health issues. For instance, the air quality index of Delhi shifted from unhealthy to poisonous in last decade due to migration of 1 lakh new people in this metropolitan city. In conclusion, owing to increased congestion of urban areas, no progress in countryside, and harm to environment, urbanization is a negative development.