Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Our environment is greatly damaged by the excessive number of plastic items which are used every day. This has a direct impact on animals’ lives. As a result of overusing plastic items, some species might become extinct due to the obliteration of their natural habitat. Although these damages have already been done, there are some measures that governments and individuals can take to alleviate this problem. Discarded plastic items will lead to the destruction of the natural habitat of some species and therefore the obliteration of those species of animals themselves. As animals struggle to find food or a place to live, their numbers will be reduced to the endangered level. For instance, the sea turtle is now an endangered specie because many baby sea turtles have died because of getting stuck in discarded plastic items in the ocean. If no measure is taken in this regard, a great decrease in the natural biodiversity of our environment will be seen in the near future. Governments can help stop the matter from getting worse by imposing tighter controls on companies that use single-use plastic products. Proposing a tax increase for using plastic is one measure that can be taken by governments. However, individuals play an important role in helping to save the environment as well. They can be of great help by actively reducing their plastic usage, recycling and reusing plastic items. In conclusion, using plastic has adverse effects on our environment. By continuing to use plastic, animals and their habitat will be in danger. This matter can be inhibited from getting worse if governments and individuals take responsibility.