In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Printed newspapers and books have always been among the main sources used to obtain information and knowledge. I feel that they are never rendered obsolete by online platforms and it is far from possible to expect such platforms to publish what all the community needs for free. On the one hand, it is argued that thanks to the advent of new technologies reading online may be pleasantly convenient, leading to the vanishing/disappearance of hardcopies. When reading online, readers will not need to deal with the hassle of buying and moving books and newspapers around since an almost infinite number of copies can be stored on their electronic devices, available to be used at the touch of a button, and more importantly at no cost. However, although this argument might be valid, its supporters ignore an important point. That words are not printed on paper does not mean no effort has been given to generate and organize the ideas behind them. Neither does it mean that the authors have not paid the cost to produce them. As a result, it is not logical to presume that the public will have access to the online version of all written works without paying for them. On the other hand, people's passion for flipping through pages of a fascinating book or newspaper cannot be ignored. There is an increasing number of people who might not be able to feel the joy of reading if forced to read an e-book. My cousin, for instance, is a book lover who prefers even a battered book to state-of-the-art devices specialized for reading on screen. Moreover, the considerable price of these gadgets could be a huge obstacle for many families in third world countries to read online. Unable to afford a suitable device, the part of the population from low social classes based in underdeveloped countries are predicted to have no choice but to use the conventional methods to be up-to-date and literate. Consequently, books and newspapers are not likely to lose their popularity precisely because of their reasonable costs. In conclusion, although it is thought that members of the society may not use hard copies to read, I believe books are not going to be outdated and remain common.