It’s becoming more and more popular to have a year off between graduating from school and entering university. Point out the advantages and disadvantages of this.

There has been an increasing trend for students to stop studying after graduating the school and continue their tertiary education after a year. Although this trend helps students to give themselves and their brains some rest and allocate their time to other activities, it has some downsides. Looking firstly at the positives, a crucial advantage is that students have enough time to refresh their minds. This is of great importance because after studying for almost ten years consecutively, having a year off can be rewarding and provides the perfect time for them to rest and regain their vitality, eagerness, and ability to study at university. Besides, students can have more time to deal with their personal dreams or issues. This is because coping with studying can leave them less time to spend on other significant activities they always wish for. To illustrate, some students wish to explore pristine wildernesses or to work and make some money to fulfil some of their plans, but as they are heavily loaded with studying, they cannot spend enough time on them. As a result, having a year off can give them this chance to implement some of their personal plans. Nevertheless, having a year off does present some problems, and one of the most important ones is that some academic information in students ’ minds may be faded out. The reason is that focusing on other tasks, activities, and plans, they may not review the things they took in before, so if they attend universities after a year, their know-how might not be as up-to-date as those who immediately continue their higher education. Furthermore, the possibility of becoming reluctant to continue tertiary education would not be improbable. If students experience a wonderful time during a year off by having fun or working, they are less likely to decide to study at universities since they may find they are more content with this way of living. In conclusion, whereas having a year off can have some advantages, it can cause students to forget some of their information and not become enthusiastic to continue their higher education.