Some people think that the best way to run a business is within a family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

A business at an initial stage is usually run by the family. Some individuals believe that developing a venture that involves family members is more successful. This essay will discuss both negatives and positives of this trend and explain why it is beneficial to follow the legacy in long run. It is evident that even a small startup will require a certain amount of finance. In such circumstances, searching for a sponsor could be an arduous job. Hence, at this point receiving money from a wealthy uncle or a loan from kin in exchange for partnership would be a big relief. In addition, honesty, integrity and truthfulness can be expected from someone you know throughout your life rather than borrowing from some other unknown sources you know from a bank or any financing agency. Therefore, it is advised to run a company that involves some family members. On the other hand, the major drawbacks are familial disputes and dismemberment of the businesses. As the company starts making profits, everyone becomes interested in taking the top position which consequently raises arguments among partners. For instance, there was a falling-out in the Ambani business empire owned by two brothers, Mukesh Ambani and Anil Ambani due to a family squabble. Such, controversy would lead to division in a successful business and impact the lives of people working there as well as the owners will also suffer great financial losses. All in all, running a family business can be risky as it may give rise to debates and inadvertently shatter the whole establishment. Despite these,shortcomings such business can flourish if the people are supportive, trustworthy and true to each other.