Many people believe that studying at university is the best way to develop oneself, learn new skills and find a well-paid job. Other people believe that more is learned from getting a job straight away after school and learning whilst working. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a dispute in nowadays society about gaining an education and finding a well-paid occupation. Some think the best way is to study at university, whereas others prefer a job immediately after school and learn from experiences. From one point of view, the university route is definitely the best and in certain professions only and inevitable way of gathering necessary expertise, for instance, medicine and law. Universities have highly specialized teachers and students have to come through admissions and a vast number of exams with along their studies. All these steps prepare them to be experts in a particular field and to know more and more about less and less. Understandably, these kinds of vocations demands practical experiences as well, although nearly all universities require the full- time attention from the student in order to do well. Therefore, during the last years of studies there are practical lessons, in which students can then integrate their knowledge with practical understanding. Unlike the aforementioned occupations and education systems, there are positions, in which a quantity of high-level knowledge is not required or there is a possibility of acquiring the required experience during the performing profession itself. For instance, plumbers, electricians and many others may gather desired skills through apprenticeships, vocational courses, or just from the older well-experienced college. Working and studying at the same time, is the best and the most elegant way how to become an expert in a certain field. In nutshell, in my opinion, there are many routes to learning the profession. Whether learning should take place at university or in work itself, depends on the end occupation.