Countries with a long average working time are more economically successfull than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extend you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that lengthening the working time of citizens could allow the country to have better economic development than the nations that have shorter office hours. This essay completely disagrees with that argument for some reasons. Firstly, a long working day is not enough if people don’t use effective management. Therefore, increasing working time is not helpful without the use of technologies. For instance, it is widely known that North Korea’s population is considered the most working population globally. An average working day there lasts for nine hours. However, this country is not economically advanced. This means that the length of the working hours does not affect economic development. Secondly, a long working time does not guarantee a high outcome. On the contrary, it negatively impacts the results since long-hour workers are likely to have higher fatigue. They consequently cause a lack of concentration and decreased productivity. In the worst case, they might get a work-related disease such as depression or even suicide. For example, the Japanese are well-known as long- time workers, and their industriousness has contributed to the development of the economy since the end of the 2nd World War. Nowadays, the suicide rate among the working generation is relatively high, and the economy of Japan is becoming slower and slower. These health problems are not suitable for economic growth, but they will also cost immaterial to society. To conclude, work quality does not measure by the length of working time. I believe that well-being conditions are essential to contribute to the economy.