Nowadays, people spend too much time at work to the extent that they hardly have any time for their personal life. How widespread is the problem and what are the consequences.

With urbanisation, people have high living costs and job insecurities. People are spending more and more time at work and on daily commuting that they hardly have any time for family or themselves. I believe this problem is growing at an alarming rate in urban areas, which is leading people to compromise on their health and relationships. There are several reasons for my stance, first and foremost, is that people have job insecurities. This is due to the fact that urbanisation is increasing and so is the living cost. Robots and artificial intelligence is replacing the human workforce which is breeding job insecurities and therefore, people are working overtime, For instance, the automated checkout counters have replaced human jobs at the local grocery markets. Secondly, employees who leave early will be highly unlikely to get promotions. As a result, there is an anxiety among the working class to hold on to their jobs. Thus, in a nutshell, the aforementioned discussion justifies my stance. On the other hand, It comes with consequences, such as health problems and relationship difficulties. This is because with long working hours people suffer from heart issues and other health-related problems. Additionally, they go through relationship difficulties due to a shortage of time and a lack of closeness with partners or children. For example, research conducted by the Employment Department of America reflects on similar lines, it can be said that the proposition is convincingly justifiable. Hence, the above-mentioned argument supports my stance. In conclusion, I believe working long hours is increasing in urban areas due to job insecurities and this development is leading to relationship issues and health problems.