Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The environment has now become one of the most serious problems that humans have to deal with. While some people argue that these problems should be solved globally, others think it is better to handle them on a national scale. In my opinion, I believe countries should work together to tackle these issues of the environment. On the one hand, there are some reasons why each nation should address its environmental question. Firstly, a similar type of environmental problem in different regions often has varied causes. For example, Australia faces the challenge of land degradation mainly due to over-grazing, yet Indonesia’s degraded land is caused by deforestation. Therefore, those nations might plan appropriate solutions independently. Furthermore, each country has its priority at various stages of development. While developing countries such as some nations in Africa are prioritising clean water supply, industrialized nations, for example, China and United States are more likely concerning about air and traffic pollution. On the other hand, the alternative suggestion of facing environmental issues globally seems more likely to be effective in practice. One obvious example is the issue of global warming which has a detrimental impact worldwide. Therefore, collaboration and agreements among states in the world are needed to tackle it. Another consideration is that some developing societies may lack the experiences and techniques to handle environmental issues effectively. If developed countries can help to provide technology or funding support to those developing countries, the process of dealing with environmental issues would be much quicker. In conclusion, although it may seem easier to solve the environmental problems nationally, in practice, dealing with these issues would be more effective when working on a global scale.