Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree with this view?

Spending public funds on the arts is sometimes regarded as wasting money. However, I am totally opposed to this position. Paintings, sculptures and literature are the crucial components of a modern society’s cultural development and should not be underestimated. Undoubtedly, the arts are a way of education and mental growth. In my opinion, people who reckon that paintings does not deserve to be funded do not realize their influence on humankind’s progress. Pictures can tell generations about history and traditions that could be forgotten for good unless this essential part of society’s legacy. For instance, some historical facts are known nowadays only because the evidence was found after investigations of different sculptures and icons. Furthermore, I am convinced that without pieces of art people will not be able to maintain some of the ethnic groups’ customs. Nonetheless, some of the art objects are kept in the inappropriate conditions, that is why government, in my view, ought to support financially collections and create public museums. They will allow us to save the majority of masterpieces and protect them from damage or disappearance. Admittedly, such a way will defend a vast majority of essential ancient inventions. To sum up, regardless some individuals are against spending money on cultural facilities I reckon that photographs and sculptures are extremely important for personal educational process. Moreover, they are a part of humankind’s cultural and historical heritage and should be saved with the help of the government, which can provide funds for the implementation of this plan.