Many parents today organise extra classes for their children after school and at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do or do you feel children have enough education at school?

In the present day, academic performance is believed to be the most significant indicator regarding education in the eyes of parents. As a result, they often push their kids to spend more time on extra classes to enhance this excellence. However, I do not agree with this matter, because kids need to experience various kinds of activities in order to discover themselves and develop other aspects outside the academic sphere for their future paths. It is clear that schools’ curriculum largely focuses on a wide range of academic subjects and those lessons are provided to connect with higher education. Consequently, pupils usually spend their times more than 40 hours a week at school to proficient in academic subjects in an intensive environment. However, some parents who are keen on the outstanding performance academically of their children often claim that the regular schedule is not enough to reach this ultimate goal. Learning in extra classes will help pupils to catch up on subjects that they might not be good at and also bring a great chance to have conversations personally with teachers in order to ask them questions directly. This, therefore, benefits those kids in their preparation for upcoming exams and helps them to develop their new knowledge related to their academic interests. However, it is obvious that forcing children to study more extra than they really need will not always guarantee success since there are also other aspects of life that kids need time to experience. Firstly, pressure from too many expectations leads to negative effects both physically and mentally such as unhealthy lifestyles and depression. For instance, children need to spend more time to be preoccupied with their lessons instead of catching up on their sleep, leading to stress and illness, and further affecting their performance at school. Secondly, weekends are quality time that children can spend with family for relaxation or leisure in order to discover other aspects which they might be interested in such as playing sports and musical instruments. Likewise, these activities will be crucial for discovering hidden abilities and led them to set the ultimate goal of their future lives appropriately as well as sometimes indirectly helping them to improve academic intelligence more creatively. To conclude, I personally believe that a regular schedule at school has fit enough for the academic success of children, thus keeping the balance between school time and playtime is more efficient to prevent them from lack of interest on study. In my opinion, it would be better to let them experience various kinds of activities or any kinds of relaxation during weekends in order to boost their energy back to be ready for next coming school hours. Not only these activities will give them to tighten their relationship with their families and learn new things, but also improve their performance in education at the same time.