Nowadays, people believe that governments should invest taxpayers' money in healthcare, while others believe that money should be used in other areas. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

People currently are appealing to the governments that the proportion of healthcare expenses should be increased. In my view, this proposal is plausible and deserves more practical support as the fitness of citizens is a cornerstone of nations. The importance of public health for a country has been repeatedly demonstrated by history, and it has recently been tested again by the outbreak of COVID-19. During the serious pandemic, compared to the countries that had highly emphasised the development of the domestic medical systems, the economy-centred countries such as China, Sri Lanka suffered significant losses, since they had not invested enough finance into constructing hospitals or community clinics and thereby unable to accommodate large amounts of patients. As a result, the WTO estimated that these developing countries might have lost over fifty thousand people due to the shortage of medical resources. In light of this, it is undoubtedly a wise decision to raise the percentage of medical expenses. However, this does not mean the opponents of the proposal are totally unreasonable, instead, they also touch something at stake. For people who are still in blossom, paying more for the healthcare system cannot bring them the same immediate benefits as investing in education that could offer their children higher quality schools, or in the maintenance of interstate highways which improve the driving experience. Therefore, many youngsters or middle-aged people would suspect the necessity of further investing in healthcare. One relevant example is my friend Jim, whose family members are all healthy, and his primary concern is whether the government will set up more universities so that his daughter does not face as much competition as she does now. In summary, although I sympathise with the standpoint of people like Jim who needs other supports other than healthcare, I still firmly believe that since the fitness of citizens is radically for the countries as the pandemic has indicated, the governments should invest more in the construction of the medical system, which will definitely benefit the whole community in the long-term.