Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, high level of sugar products has become more popular among people, especially in the foods and drinks industry, leading people to face physical issues. Some people argued that an increase in prices for sugary products will be an effective way to encourage people to eat less. Nonetheless, I disagree with this measure since this cannot lead to a long-term solution. It is partly true that more expensive prices of sugary products can affect purchasing decisions among consumers, however, it can be considered an ineffective way to make people consume less sugar since increasing price does not guarantee a change in eating behaviour driven by inappropriate attitudes of addiciting sugary products. In addition, sometimes it can lure people to buy more because of misunderstanding. For example, in Thailand, there are two different brands of soda that are extremely popular for carbonated lovers called Coca-Cola and EST. Coca-cola product is usually sold at a higher price compared to the EST, which led people to buy more of this brand since they might think an expensive price indicating as a better taste soda. As a result, an increase in the price of sugary products will not encourage consumers to buy less, however, they might tend to buy more or switch to another substituted one which is cheaper. Furthermore, this solution establishes the unequal right of consumers compared to producers as they need to purchase an expensive product, while the quality remains the same. The advantages will belong to the manufacturers which will favour them to produce more unhealthy diets instead of having the development of healthy products. Taking chocolates as an example, despite a higher price among other snacks, some luxurious brands continually expose other lines of products introduced to the market, resulting in customers having more choices on sweets. As a consequence, research on useful snacks will not grow in its numbers unless they provide more profits than chocolates do. In conclusion, I firmly disagree with making sugary products more expensive since this way does not confirm the different result and be unfair to consumers. In my opinion, the authority should handle this problem by training people to have appropriate lifestyles in the long run.