Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

During the last few years, having a private car has been highly popular and it is regarded as a symbol of good prosperity. As a result, the number of cars is increasing day by day which poses several problems. To my mind, however, this fever plays a vital role in creating heavy traffic in urban; but it is not the only defining factor. Also, I assume decreasing the cost of public transportation could significantly reduce the usage of private cars. Firstly, obviously rocketing the number of cars accounts for boosting the statistics of bumper-to-bumper traffic all around the globe mostly in megacities; Whereas, cars are not the only logic. In some areas, the other reasons namely inappropriate roads, high concentration of markets in some regions and unavailability of good public conveyance are responsible for it, especially during rush hours. So, it can be said that car congestion is not exclusively due to increasing the use of private cars. Regarding the solution, the best action that can be done by governments is to develop the state of various public transportation systems. In more detail, the number of buses, the routes they take and the price are imperative parameters which associated with the popularity of this method of transportation. Although, decreasing the cost sounds illogical at first glance, has the potential to bring numerous benefits to governments. That is because it heavily limits the traffic jams in metropolises; moreover, it is more eco-friendly. In conclusion, I admit while enthusiasm about purchasing private cars leads to an upturn in the traffic rate, cars are the only main reason for this phenomenon. Furthermore, governments possess the ability to solve this issue by making public transportation status better.