In some countries, students are required to study a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen. In other countries, however, students study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each education system? Which system is better?

Each country has its own educational system with different types of the syllabus. In some systems, for example, the Thai education system, students are required to study a limited range of subjects in high school while in some systems, such as the US, and UK students can study a wide range of subjects. Both systems have advantages and disadvantages, in my opinion. To study a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen, students need to make a decision on their study path and career path at the early stage of education. This system can cause students to be well-prepared for their higher education in university, for example, in engineering, architecture, medicine, etc. Studying a limited range of subjects makes the course more in-depth and more specific to prepare students for their study path. However, students studying a wide range of subjects can lead to more freedom to explore themselves and what they like. At the age of fifteen, lots of students are still not sure about their life after graduation, with the wide range of subjects, students can explore the subject that they are interested in with no compulsory core modules. For instance, a student can study both Spanish and biology. Both of the systems have different aspects of benefit, a wide range of subjects is better in my opinion. From my experience studying limited subjects only Math-Science, which limited my choice in university as well. At that age, students are still exploring themselves and shouldn’t be limited by the choice they made. I was limited to Math-Science but I was also interested in arts, history, and philosophy as well that I couldn’t choose to study. In conclusion, both educational systems have their own benefit, from my personal view, a wide range of subjects is better because that can give students the freedom to explore different subjects they are interested in.